President appoints two committees to combat Covid-19 and Dengue | Sri Lanka News

In a bid to combat the spread of Covid-19 and Dengue in the country, President Ranil Wickremesinghe has appointed two committees, namely a Ministerial Committee and an Expert Committee.

These Committees have been formed in accordance with Cabinet Decision No. 23/Miscellaneous/026 issued on June 22, 2023.

The Ministerial Committee, led by Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardene, comprises 8 members, including Cabinet and State Ministers. Their primary responsibility is to implement urgent measures aimed at controlling the spread of Covid-19 and Dengue nationwide.

On the other hand, an Expert Committee consisting of 11 members who possess extensive knowledge in the relevant fields has been appointed to provide valuable expertise and guidance in the fight against Covid-19 and Dengue.

The experts and officials in the relevant fields have been appointed as members of the Experts Committee to support the Ministerial Committee in achieving its objectives.

Meanwhile, in order to facilitate the work of the Experts Committee, nine Provincial Sub-Committees chaired by the chief secretaries of the respective provinces have also been established.

Sri Lanka is currently grappling with a Dengue epidemic with over 42,000 cases being logged for 2023. Sri Lanka has also reported 25 deaths since January.

According to health officials, the worst is yet to come and thus people should brace themselves to face a major outbreak.

As far as the Covid-19 situation is concerned, Sri Lanka is out of the woods. However, several Asian countries like China have experienced a surge in cases. In that context, it is vital to be vigilant and take precautionary measures to avert the virus entering the country. (Sheain Fernandopulle)

( Information from was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Share to...