Sri Lanka elected Vice-President of 78th UNGA | Sri Lanka News

Sri Lanka was elected as a Vice President of the 78th session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) by all 193 member states.

The United Nations on Thursday announced the appointment of Sri Lanka for the Asia-Pacific States alongside the Islamic Republic of Iran, Malaysia, Singapore and Uzbekistan.

Congo, Gambia, Morocco, Senegal, Uganda and Zambia were elected as Vice Presidents for African States while Estonia for the Eastern European States and the Plurinational State of Bolivia, and Suriname for Latin American and Caribbean States.

Vice Presidents were announced for Iceland, the Kingdom of the Netherlands for Western European and other States.

These newly elected Vice Presidents will join the five permanent members of the Security Council, namely China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States, who serve as Assembly Vice Presidents on an annual basis.

Accordingly, Mohan Peiris, Permanent Representative of the United Nations, will assume the relevant position for the period from September 2023 to September 2024 for the Asia Pacific region.


( Information from was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Share to...