Landslide warning issued for five districts as rain continues | Sri Lanka News

The National Building Research Organisation (NBRO) today issued a landslide early warning for five districts including Badulla, Galle, Kegalle, Matale and Matara, the Meteorology Department said.  

Accordingly, the Yellow and Amber coloured level landslide warnings have been issued for the following areas of the five mentioned districts.  

Haldummulla, Hali Ela, Baddegama, Yakkalamulla, Pallepola, Passara, Elpitiya, Nagoda, Kotapola and Pasgoda.

The NBRO requests people living in landslide-prone areas to pay attention to the following pre-landslide signs such as the development of cracks on the ground, deepening of existing cracks and ground subsidence – slanting of trees, electrical posts, fences and telephone posts – cracks on the floors and walls of buildings built on slopes and the sudden appearance of springs, emerging muddy water, blockage or disappearances of existing springs etc.  

In addition, people living in landslide prone areas should be extra vigilant and should be ready to move quickly to safer places if heavy rains continue, cautioned the NBRO.

( Information from was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Leave a Comment

Share to...