Contempt of court cases against Treasury Secretary to be heard today | Sri Lanka News

Two contempt of court cases filed by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara and National People's Power Parliamentarian Vijitha Herath against the Treasury Secretary are to be heard today (30) before a Supreme Court's five-judge-bench.

These contempt of court cases had been filed against Treasury Secretary Mahinda Siriwardana for alleged failure to comply with the Supreme Court order issued regarding the Local Government elections.

These two applications are to be taken up before Supreme Court five-judge-bench comprising Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Justice Buwaneka Aluwihare, Justice Priyantha Jayawardena, Justice Vijith Malalgoda and Justice Murdu Fernando.

The SJB General Secretary and NPP Parliamentarian are seeking an order to charge Treasury Secretary Mahinda Siriwardana for the offence of Contempt of the Court under Article 105(3) of the Constitution.

On March 3, the Supreme Court issued an interim order preventing the Treasury Secretary and any other state official from withholding any funds allocated for the purpose of conducting Local Government polls 2023. This order had been issued pursuant to a Fundamental Rights petition filed by SJB General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara.(Lakmal Sooriyagoda)

( Information from was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Share to...