Contempt of court cases against Treasury Secretary fixed for May 22 | Sri Lanka News

Two contempt of court cases filed by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara and National People's Power Parliamentarian Vijitha Herath against the Treasury Secretary were today fixed for May 22 by Supreme Court.

These contempt of court cases had been filed against Treasury Secretary Mahinda Siriwardana for alleged failure to comply with the Supreme Court order issued regarding the Local Government Elections.  

When the two applications came up before the Supreme Court five-judge-bench headed by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Attorney General Sanjay Rajaratnam sought further time to file several documents pertaining to the applications.

The SJB General Secretary and NPP Parliamentarian are seeking an order to charge Treasury Secretary Mahinda Siriwardana for the offence of Contempt of the Court under Article 105(3) of the Constitution.

Supreme Court five-judge-bench comprised Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya and Justice Buwaneka Aluwihare, Justice Priyantha Jayawardena, Justice Vijith Malalgoda and Justice Murdu Fernando.

Geoffrey Alagaratnam PC with Upul Jayasuriya PC appeared for SJB General Secretary. Senior Counsel Upul Kumarapperuma appeared for Vijitha Herath.

Treasury Secretary was represented by Senior Counsel Eraj de Silva and Hafeel Farisz and Nallaiah Ashokbaran.(Lakmal Sooriyagoda)

( Information from was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Share to...