Pavithra appointed as SL EUPFA President | Sri Lanka News

Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi was appointed recently as the President of the Sri Lanka-European Union Parliamentary Friendship Association (SL EUPFA).

The special meeting to appoint the office bearers related to the 9th Parliament of the SL EUPFA was held in Parliament and was chaired by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana. 

The Ambassador to European Union in Sri Lanka Denis Chaibi, was present as the guest of honor and Parliament Secretary General Dhammika Dasanayake was also present at this event.

State Minister Diana Gamage, Dr.Upul Galappaththi, and Hector Appuhamy were appointed as the new Secretaries to the SL EUPFA.
Addressing the meeting, the Speaker stated that the European Union has provided grants to Sri Lanka to support and contribute to local efforts towards recovery and reform processes in a wide range of areas including poverty reductions, democratic governance, local development, agriculture, water and health and allocated financial grant for Development Assistance in Sri Lanka during period for 2014 to 2020. Furthermore, the Speaker stated that the EU had extended its support to Sri Lanka during the COVID-19 crisis in the country. 


( Information from was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Leave a Comment

Share to...