10-member committee to draft new constitution for SLC | Sri Lanka News

Sports Minister Roshan Ranasinghe has appointed a 10-member committee, chaired by former Supreme Court Judge Justice KT Chitrasiri, to submit a draft of the proposed new constitution for Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC),

Issuing a media release on Thursday, Minister Ranasinghe said the independent panel of governance experts would conduct “necessary stakeholders inquiries and deliberations, impartially and objectively, with the assistance, guidance and advice of the Technical Committee of the International Cricket Council (ICC).”

Also in the committee, as members, are Dr. Duminda Hulangamuwa, Dr. Ariththa Wickramanayake, President's Counsel Harsha Amarasekera, Major General (Retd) Renuka Rowell, Deepthika Kulasena, Gayal Kalatuwawa, Hariguptha Rohanadeera and former cricketers Charith Senanayake and Farveez Maharoof.

The Minister said that the appointments came pursuant to a writ application (No. 460/2020) in the Court of Appeal, that sought to amend or draft a new constitution for SLC.

In a letter addressed to the committee chair, a copy of which the Daily Mirror has seen, the Minister said that he had sought “the guidance and expert advice of the ICC as it has indeed provided, in respect of the constitution of other cricket bodies internationally.”

The minister also said that he expected the committee to draft the proposed new constitution within two months.

Interestingly, a few hours before the news of the appointment of this committee was made public, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) released a media statement that it had earned a record net profit of Rs. 6.3 billion during the year 2022, which it said was a three-fold year-on-year increase compared to 2021.

( Information from dailymirror.lk was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Leave a Comment

Share to...