NSC rejects names put forward for SLC selection committee | Sri Lanka News

The National Selection Committee (NSC) of the Ministry of Sports has rejected all ten names proposed by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) for its new national cricket selection committee, it was reported on Tuesday.

The current six-member cricket selection committee, headed by former Sri Lanka fast bowler Pramodya Wickramasinghe, was appointed last April and while a length for their term was not specified, they have come under fire following the national team’s performance at last year’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

The committee drew the ire of former national cricket captain Arjuna Ranatunga, the Chairman of the National Sports Council under the Ministry of Sports, who last November questioned some of the selections that were made and suggested that all national sports associations should appoint only veteran sports persons to their selection committees.

This sentiment was reportedly echoed in a letter by the NSC, headed by former Army Commander Shavendra Silva, sent to the Sports Minister, in which they rejected the names put forward by SLC stating that a professionally qualified committee was required.

It was also reported that the NSC had requested approval from the Minister to call for fresh names from SLC to be considered for a new selection committee. 

( Information from dailymirror.lk was used in this report. ALL RESPECT GOES TO ORIGINAL WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE. | Also if you have any problem of this article or if you need to remove this articles, please email here and we will delete this immediately. [email protected] )

Leave a Comment

Share to...