SLFP to take disciplinary action against 8 MPs! | Breaking News

The leadership of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) has decided to take disciplinary action against eight members who accepted ministerial portfolios against the decision of the SLFP Central Committee.

 Contrary to the party decision not to accept portfolios, Nimal Siripala de Silva and Mahinda Amaraweera accepted Cabinet Ministerial portfolios while Ranjith Siambalapitiya, Chamara Sampath Dasanayake, Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Jagath Pushpakumara and Shantha Bandara accepted State Ministerial portfolios.
However, SLFP Senior Vice President Prof. Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa confirmed that disciplinary inquiries will be conducted in the coming days as per the powers vested in party Chairman.
However, after Nimal Siripala de Silva was sworn in as a minister earlier, he filed a case in the Colombo District Court and the SLFP General Secretary informed the court that no action would be taken against him.
Meanwhile, SLFP MP Duminda Dissanayake is also scheduled to receive a ministerial portfolio in the coming days. Along with the former President Maithripala Sirisena, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Angajan Ramanathan, Shan Vijayalal de Silva and Dushmantha Mithrapala have not accepted ministerial portfolios.

Leave a Comment

Share to...