Cabinet to grow larger next week! | Breaking News

Twelve more cabinet ministers are scheduled to take oaths in front of President Ranil Wickremesinghe next week.

Sources from the President’s Office say that the swearing-in will take place either next Monday (12) or Tuesday (13).

It is reported that 10 out of the 12 MPs to be sworn in as cabinet ministers in this manner, are MPs of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP).

In addition, Jeevan Thondaman and A.M.L. Ataullah are to be sworn in as the remaining 02 ministers.

So far, there are 18 MPs who have already taken oaths as cabinet ministers, with the number set to increase to 30 with the latest batch.

The President is said to be focusing on amending the scopes of several present ministers.

However, political sources add that the President has decided not to change the scopes of several ministries including Foreign Affairs, Agriculture, Power and Energy, Land and Tourism, Labor and Foreign Employment, Education and Irrigation.

Meanwhile, it is said that 8-10 opposition MPs are to be sworn in as cabinet ministers later.

Earlier this week, 37 MPs were sworn in as state ministers.

Share to...