Sri Lanka president swears in 37 new state ministers from SLPP, SLFP | Sinhala News

Sri lanka News – With prospects of an all-party government in crisis-hit Sri Lanka looking increasingly dim, 37 MPs representing the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) have been appointed as state ministers before President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

SLFP MP Ranjith Siyambalapitiya and SLPP MP Shehan Semasinghe were sworn in as State Ministers of Finance before the president Thursday September 08 morning. Both have served as state ministers of finance in different governments.

A member of the Rajapaksa family, Shasheendra Rajapaksa, has also received a portfolio.

The new appointments came after repeated calls by President Wickremesinghe for an all-party government were either ignored or avoided by opposition parties. Wickremesinghe sought the support of all parties represented in parliament, particularly the main opposition the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) and party seniors like Harsha de Silva, to see Intentional Monetary Fund (IMF)-recommended economic reforms through, but the SJB, the Tamil National Alliance and the leftist Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP)-led Nationl People’s Power (NPP) among other parties declined.

However, one SJB MP – Aravindh Kumar – appears to have defected to the government. He was appointed as State Minister of Education.

SLPP MP Janaka Wakkaumbara was appointed as State Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government.

Other appointments are as follows:

Mohan Priyadarshana De Silva, State Minister of Agriculture

Lasantha Alagiyawanna, State Minister of Transport

Vijitha Berugoda, State Minister of Piriven Education

Lohan Ratwatte, State Minister of Plantation Industries

Sanath Nishantha, State Minister of Water Supply

Indika Anurudhdha, State Minister of Power and Energy

Siripala Gamlath, State Minister of Highways

Shantha Bandara, State Minister of Media

Prasanna Ranaweera, State Minister of Small and Medium Enterprise Development

D V Chanaka, State Minister of Wildlife and Forest Conservation

D B Herath, State Minister of Livestock Development

Shasheendra Rajapaksa, State Minister of Irrigation

Dr Seetha Arambepola, State Minister of Health

Ashoka Priyantha, State Minister of Home Affairs

Aravind Kumar, State Minister of Education

Geetha Kumarasinghe, State Minister of Women and Child Affairs

Dr Suren Raghavan, State Minister of Higher Education

Kanaka Herath, State Minster of Technology

Thenuka Vidanagamage and Arundika Fernando, State Ministers of Urban Development and Housing

Pramitha Bandara Tennakooon, State Minister of Defence

Rohana Dissanayake, State Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs

Tharaka Balasuriya, State Minister of Foreign Affairs

Sanath Nishantha, State Minister of Water Supply

Anuradha Jayaratne, State Minister of Justice and Prison Affairs

S Viyalendran, State Minister of Trade

Sisira Jayakody, State Minister of Indigenous Medicine

Piyal Nishantha de Silva, State Minister of Fisheries

K Kadar Masthan, State Minister of Rural Economy

Sivanesathurai Santhirakanthan a.k.a. Pilleyan , State Minister of Rural Road Development

Diana Gamage, State Minister of Tourism

Chamara Sampath Dassanayake, State Minister of Basic Industries

Anupa Piyum Pasqual, State Minister of Social Empowerment


Leave a Comment

Share to...