SLFP's 71st Anniversary today | Breaking News

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) marks its 71st Anniversary today.

The event to mark the 71st Anniversary will be held at the National Youth Service Council at 1.30 pm today under the chairmanship of the party’s Chairman, former President and MP Maithripala Sirisena.

The SLFP, which was established in 1951 under the leadership of S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike, is considered a centre-left political party.

Five years after the establishment of the party, the SLFP was able to gain momentum to rule the country with the support of the Mahajana Eksath Peramuna.

Accordingly, Mr. Bandaranaike was elected as the fourth Prime Minister of the country by uniting the Pancha Maha Balavegaya’ (Five Great Forces) which consisted of the native doctors, clergy, teachers, farmers and workers in 1956 thus rallying the people around the SLFP-led alliance.

During his tenure, business and economic establishments under multinational companies were nationalized and made Sinhala the official language.

From that day onwards, the left-wing parties and SLFP have jointly ruled the country for over 30 years.

After the establishment of the Executive Presidential System, the party was able to produce two Presidents who managed to retain office for 21 years.

A SLFP-led government also has the honor of getting rid of the Dominion status and declaring the country as a republic.

Sirimavo Bandaranaike, who was the first Prime Minister of the world, also led the SLFP for 41 years.

Source: Newsfirst

Leave a Comment

Share to...