Sri Lanka parliament to select new president on July 20 | Sinhala News

Sri lanka News – Sri Lanka’s parliament will elect a new President on July 20, after meet calling for nominations on July 19, Speaker Mahinda Abeyewardene said after President Gotabaya Rajapaksa said he will resign following popular protests.

Following a partly leader’s meeting on July 11, the speaker said parliament will meet on July 15.

President Rajapaksa has said he will resign on July 13 and Prime Minister Wickremesinghe and the existing cabinet is expected to resign as soon as a new government is ready to take over.

The Speaker said government chief whip Prasanna Ranatunga has told the meeting that the cabinet is ready to step down even on July 12 if an all party government is formed.

Speaker Abeywardene said the election of the President by the parliament will be done according to the Article 40 of the constitution and a 1981 law on choosing a president.

Under Sri Lanka’s law an election will take place if there are more than one nomination for the post.

There have been calls to bring in a non-political person to parliament by the resignation of an existing member and make him president.

Another possibility is to make Samagi Jana Balawegaya leader Sajith Premadasa the President and give the Prime Minister post to the Sri Lanka Podujana Party.

Among candidates speculated is Dullas Alahapperuma.

The current administration was ousted by the public due to monetary instability coming from a broken soft-peg which made it difficult to import fuel. (Colombo/July12/2022)

Leave a Comment

Share to...