Red notice on lightning, thunderstorm issued for 18 districts: Met Dept. | Sri Lanka News

Red notice on thundershowers accompanied by severe lightning was issued for 18 districts in Western, Southern, Sabaragamuwa, Central, Uva and Eastern provinces and in Kurunegala and Polonnaruwa districts, the Department of Meteorology said today. 

Accordingly, the 18 districts including Trincomalee, Polonnaruwa, Batticaloa, Matale, Kurunegala, Kandy, Kegalle, Nuwara Eliya, Gampaha, Badulla, Ampara, Colombo, Monaragala, Kalutara, Ratnapura, Galle, Matara and Hambantota have been marked in red.

The general public have been advised to take adequate precautionary measures to safeguard themselves from dangers and disasters caused by lightning.

The Meteorology Department advised the people to seek shelter, preferably indoors and never under trees. They also advised the people to avoid open areas such as paddy fields, tea plantation fields, playgrounds and open water bodies during thunderstorms. Also to avoid using wired telephones and connected electric appliances during thunderstorms. Avoid travelling in open vehicles, such as bicycles, tractors and boats and beware of fallen trees and power lines. (Chaturanga Samarawickrama)

Leave a Comment

Share to...