Red alert issued over 18 districts: Met.Dept | Sri Lanka News

A red alert has been issued for 18 districts within the next 24-hours as heavy rains of more than 100mm was expected, the Metrology Department said.

Accordingly, heavy showers above 100mm was expected in the Western, Sabaragamuwa, Central, Northwestern, Uva and Northern provinces and in the Galle and Matara districts during the next 24 hours.

Accordingly, the 18 districts are named as follows: Jaffna, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu, Mannar, Vavuniya, Puttalam, Kurunegala, Gampaha, Kegalla, Kandy, Colombo, Nuwara Eliya, Badulla, Kalutara, Ratnapura, Monaragala, Galle and Matara, the DMC said.

The Department requested the general public to take adequate precautions to minimize damages caused by temporary localized strong winds and lightning thundershowers. (Chaturanga Samarawickrama)

Share to...